Seedybeans Blog

Celebrating the Humble Harvests of High Desert Homesteading

Ode to friends with fruit

perfect little apricots

 

The other day I got random phone call from a friend—she was pickling and wanted some dill and could trade for apricots!!!  I made a quick evening drive through the clouding evening sky to do a picking trip.  

Evening Sky opening on 503 toward Chimayo

 

She fed me dinner and then we all—me and her family of 6, picked happily into the evening as we watched the rain roll in. 

It was a bountiful trade on my end as I ended up with a huge basket of luscious apricots—which just twenty minutes away are nonexistent on the trees by my house.  I also have a small garden with immature trees so it was a great way to share an evening and our individual abundances.

I have been to receiver of great gifts from my bees as well, so I decided apricot jam with honey is what would be made.  A little planning ahead was on my side too, as last fall when my husband I got married we decided to buy 10 cases of canning jars instead of glasses.  It was a DIY wedding in the woods that lasted all weekend, so we had plenty of glasses for everyone and now….plenty of jars for canning.

Adding it all up, I only needed to buy lemon juice and the pectin, which turns out I don’t really need either.. I found a non pectin was of jamming here…….jam without pectin

I must admit though, after using totally sugar-free recipe, I decided to add some at the end, it was just too tart to have 12 jars of.

12 jars of jam

 

Now I have  12 jars of apricot, honey, sugar & spice jam, which will last a while and may come in handy for trades in the future.

It reminded me of a friend who was concerned with good food for her family last fall.  She was envious of our garden and since she lives in town, just doesn’t have the abundance of produce to preserve.  I suggested buying seconds (damaged but perfectly good produce) from farmers when the harvest comes in.  Buying food in bulk when it is in season helps your food stash as well as the farmers who are drowning in the harvest and may not have the right venues to move such abundance of food in the short window of ripeness.  You can also ask, if you make the trip to their farms to pick if they would give you any deeper discounts.  Bring the kids and make it a day.  

Little Sophie visiting Fat duck farm with the home school group last summer

 

We may not all have money right now, but we may have the time.  Just figuring out what we do have and trading helps us all figure out new economies and ways to get closer to each other, our food, not mention try new things, we may not even know we love.  Happy harvest!!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

