Seedybeans Blog

Celebrating the Humble Harvests of High Desert Homesteading

Happy last frost day

 

Corn Maiden- from the Sky Woman by Joanne Shenandoah & Douglas M. George

 

As some readers may know, I have been following the Biodynamic planting calendar this growing season and loving it. I am lucky enough to have time in my days to garden at home and can kind of work my schedule around what needs to be done.  It is tricky for some, as a friend stated, ” I can’t just do everything at once”  for me that is what I like about it.  Plant flowers this day, sow greens this day, etc.. there are even days to check your bees and spread your “preparations”.  It let’s you integrate gardening as a daily practice instead of a weekend warrior thing, which I do realize and respect is real for many of us. By all means power on you weekend warriors, bless those busy hands.  But for me this is a deepening of my garden practice.  For some it is Zen mediation, others, training for the marathon of  a life time, for me it is to become an even more deeply rooted grower.

Cucumbers to be planted in front of greenhouse

 

This week was full of Biodynamic fun.  Thursday was  fruit day– I planted cucumbers and as I went I pulled those luscious lambs quarters that were in my way.  Yes, I could have eaten them , but since the “crop” is abundant this year, I just whistle while I worked and weeded as I sowed.  Acting much as a cover crop, lambs quarters concentrate nitrogen in the soil so I could compost them, or simply lay them right down around the new cucumbers.  I hve taken to this habit mainly cause whenever my husband sees me luggin wheel burrow load sof weeds ot the compst pile he say, why take them all that way so thay can just come right back here…Good point and I have truly seen not only thr lodgic buthe results in this theroy.  Now the once “weeds” will suppress other weeds, trap moisture and help my little cucs little along, while of course giving their bodies back to the soil and all the nitrogen that comes with that.  My nighttime reading lately I wonderful book given to me by the gitty elfin lady who wrote it, Wendy Johnson.  She is a Zen Buddhist, a mother and an amazing garden teacher among many other things.  In her book, Gardening at the Dragon’s Gate she shares her and her teachers wisdom on weeds: “Suzuki Roshi used to say, : ‘Be grateful for the weeds in your life.  Eventually they will enrich your practice.’ In their unruly strength and rank stance, weeds fortify your life.  They stand, rugged, and ancient, among the gleaming crops, anchoring the assembly with an old gravity, reminding all gardeners that flowers fall with our attachment and weeds thrive with our neglect.”

Cucumber is the little yellowish guy in the middle, lambsquarter mulch all around

That same day I planted corn in my little circle garden out back.  Planting corn is something I have to do, though I don’t know exactly why, it just told me so, so I abide.  I claim no real wisdom about, but I will say I love it.  In fact corn is so sacred I have to write a whole post about corn alone.  Choosing what kind to grow this year was pretty funny.  You see while in Tucson this February, a dear friend and I went to Native Seed Search.  She knows it is an important pilgrimage any time I am in Tucson, so she always makes time for it in our visits.  This year my husband circled half the catalog and I went to fulfil the order.  When the bill got over $150 I called him from my cell phone to verify, and yes he did in fact want everything circled.  So now in our seed bank we have over 13 kinds of corn, saved, gifted and bought.

So much corn so little space

 

 I decided on Vadito Blue Corn, From North New Mexico, counted the seeds perfectly and planted.  But then ran out some how….  Corn varaieties needs to be planted at least 1/4 mile apart so they don’t cross-pollinate with each other, as it is pollinated by the wind.  Opps  I disregarded this info and planted the other half of the garden in Taos Blue.  I figured if the cross, they are similar so how bad could it be?  Then I looked over the fence and saw my neighbor had planted his field.  I figure it is corn because that is all he ever grows, oh well, cross-pollinate away, yes, deepening the practice.

On Friday, moon in Taurus (an earth sign) I waited till the evening, after five I was taught is best.  The thunder clouds circled around and danced lightening to the north, then to the west with their light.  I sat in my garden, smelled the rain and for an hour, yes a whole hours stirred my cow horn manure prep for spreading on newly opened ground.  It is a preparation that you spread to inoculate the soil with the life that has concentrated in the buried horn all winter. This of course is a summary of the vast knowledge and depth of Biodynamic philosophy —so if you want more info just email me and I will link you to my teacher and the classes she gives on all this magic.

Swirling vortex of the cosmos on earth

 

As I stirred, I sang and called in the rain..it is supposed to be extra awesome to spread the preparation after a good rain.  And yes, It rained on me as I stirred, and like magical New Mexico rain storms the sun shone bright in the setting light all the while.  My husband laughed out loud at my witchy ways, but then joined me for the spreading.  We sprinkled it over all the open ground we had and then some.. Good Friday night fun on Bouquet Lane!!

stir swirl sing

 

So now the rain has come, the frost has passed, and yes my friends it is time to plant -plant- plant.  Happy growing season from my garden to yours.

1 Comment»

  kyce wrote @

Wow, what a potent planting ritual. That lucky corn will no doubt reward your diligence.


Leave a Reply

