Seedybeans Blog

Celebrating the Humble Harvests of High Desert Homesteading

The Most Important week of the year!!

Well at least for me it is.  No, not because of daylight savings time, not because of the Equinox, not because spring break is over and time to get back to school, though all those things to play into the fact that it is …….seed planting time!!  This week the stars are aligned, the moon is new, two months till the last frost….and I can’t wait a minute longer.  I put up a planting calender last month that seems not to fit the format of my blog…so…. Here are a few of the things I am planting this week to guide you.  I have been following basic experience, seed packets instructions and math, as well as various calenders that all say now is the time!!  Some good calender resources

The Johnny’s Seed Co. website where you can enter your zip code and it tells you what to plant when. Look for it on the right column of the page www.johnnyseeds.com

Planting by the moon calender.www.gardeningbythemoon.com

Biodynamic planting guide www.stellanatura.com.  

The old farmer’s Almanac also has an online calender you can enter your zip code adn get the dates for your exact area and when to plant what. www.almanac.com/gardening/planting-dates/NM/Santa%20Fe

What I am planting

March 13 & 14th –Were flower planting days.(hence the picture)  The moon is in Aquarius (a barren sign) , but the Biodynamic calendar say it is flower time.  I am new at the Biodynamic stuff, so let’s see how it goes. I planted Poppies outside Now nestled under what they say could be a foot of snow by tomorrow night!!! Also I planted: Rudbeckia, Snapdragons, Pansies, Zinnia’s, Scabiosa….to name a few!!!

March 15-18th New Moon on Monday in the sign of Pisces, very fruitful!  According the Biodynamic calender leaf crops do well sown from 8am Monday to 10am Thursday.  The moon book suggests Broccoli, Brussels Sprouts, Cabbage, Cauliflower, Celery for this moon.  I will be planting:

Kale, Chard, Collards,Cabbage, Broccoli, Lettuce, Spinach, Basil, Mustard greens.  All in flats in the greenhouse.

Outside in my cold frame I will be planting Spinach, Mache (it is French) and Peas out in the open– maybe even into the snow!!  They love it I promise!! 

March 18th- 20th- The moon goes in to Aires, a barren sign according to the Moon book, but the Biodynamic calender says it is s good time to plant fruit.  If I were home, I would plant early tomatoes, but alas, I will be out of town, so my next window will be the 26-27th.

That should keep us all pretty busy for the week.  What are you planting?


2 Comments»

  kyce wrote @

Dear SeedyBeans,
When can I plant my greens and their early season friends outside?
Signed,
Impatient.

  seedybeans wrote @

I planted peas and spinach last week outside. No germination yet, but the wild spinach is sprouting which tells me mine will soon too. I will plant carrots and beets in my cold frame tomorrow (Biodynamic root day) the lettuce, chinese cabbage, kale, and spicy greens in my cold frame on Thursday afternoon (Lunar signs is good for leaves). It is a tough call right now cause the weather is so wet and springy, but it will frost at night through April. The best thing to do is plant greens on cold frames, or cover them with think remay ( fabric used for frost protection) or even inventive cloches( mini greenhouses) that can be made with milk jugs, glass jugs, soda bottles, etc…Hope that helps.


Leave a Reply

